Doctors of Madness in Japan, Part 1

Here’s part one of the story of Doctors of Madness coming to Japan by Masao Nakagami from Target Earth Blog

dom

The Doctors of Madness came to Japan and played at Rock-ichi Rock-za a few weeks ago. In case you don’t know them, they’re a band that gets wedged into the “proto-punk” category, as being a punk band on the eve of punk rock (and they were part of the punk scene when it did break out). If you want to read more about them, you can head over to Wikipedia and get the whole story, but I wanted to write a little about how it came to be that I was involved in them coming to Japan…

I always liked Doctors of Madness but I wasn’t what you’d call a super fan. I knew Sister Paul had brought them in 2003 but I didn’t go and see them.

At the end of last year, I interviewed Sister Paul for Sazanami Label. I did the interview and took pictures, but outside the interview, we got to talking about other stuff and we really hit it off.

We didn’t really keep in touch after that but sometime around Gold Week, Susumu from Sister Paul contacted me. He said he loved Doctors of Madness and wanted to bring them again and was wondering if there was any way I could help. I’d probably mentioned during our chatting last year that I sometimes brought bands to Japan.

We emailed each other back and forth for a while and then decided to meet in Shinjuku and talk about it. One of the things at the forefront of Susumu’s mind was that they went in the red 400,000 yen the last time they brought the Doctors. He really didn’t want that to happen again.

I told about all the experiences I’d had bringing bands to Japan, the good ones and the bad, trying to find some advice from all I’d learned along the way. So, I told him it was best to have them at least play two Tokyo shows, each with different openers. That makes each show a little different. And this led to him asking if Target Earth would put on one of the shows.

It just so happened they were set to come in September and October, and that’s when we do Rock-ichi Rock-za, so it just made sense. This is how it started and next I’ll post a live report.

 

Leave a Reply

